I’ve Got to Stop Neglecting My Blog

I can’t help but wonder how Hermione felt in Book Six (Half-Blood Prince) when Ron began dating Lavendar.

To the best of my knowledge, my now ex hasn’t moved on yet, isn’t dating someone new.  He’s not that kind of guy.  If I find out otherwise, well, I’ll have to change him from a Harry in my mind (trys his best to do the right thing, always works hard, loyal) to a Malfoy.  (I know, I know, my analogies are faulty.  So sue me.)  I really don’t want to change him to a Malfoy.  I can’t believe him to be that kind of man.  Our breakup was more of the Harry and Cho variety (a fight just became too much) than the Lily and Snape variety (bitter and irreversible). 

I can understand what she went through with Cormac MacLaggen.  Don’t think I haven’t considered it.  But, at the end of the day, I want to be able to look myself in the eye and go to bed with an easier conscious.  And, I don’t have it in me to lead some poor soul on.

I had a nasty realization mid-week last week.  I’ve been there as Hermione lost Ron for a period of time in what seems like all of the books (the first, before they were friends.  The second, when she was petrified.  The third, the battle of the cat v. rat.  The fourth, following the Yule Ball.  The Half-Blood prince, where her heart was broken by him, and finally, The Deathly Hallows, when she thought he was gone for good).  I’ve also read through the books as Bella lost Edward.  When the love of Hermione’s life left her, she soldiered on, continuing to hunt for the Horcruxes.  She was in pain, but she put it aside for the betterment of the Wizarding World.

Bella did a lot of homework, worked aimlessly, went numb, and then jumped off a cliff.

Yeah…I think I want to be a Hermione.

Leave a Reply

