Faith, Hope, Love

I’ve been rereading the Potter series (in addition to several other books).  This is a yearly occurrence in my life, but it’s coming at a particularly necessary time.

My students always start the year thinking I’m Umbridge, but right about how they start to realize no, I’m McGonagall…tough, but consistent, and really care. 

I’ve been thinking about the Deathly Hallows a lot lately.  The wand…great power, great responsibility.  As a teacher, I have great power in the lives of my students (no matter what the damn politicians will tell you) and that is a great responsibility.  Hence, greater meaning of the Elder Wand.

The Resurrection Stone, with it’s power to recall loved ones from the grave, seems to me as a reminder that, as Sirius tells harry in PoA movie, “The ones that love us never really leave us.”  We all have a Resurrection Stone in our lives, called our memories.  Never forget those who love you, because they will never leave you.

And finally, we have the Invisibility Cloak.  None of us can avoid Death, but the fear of Death should not be the dominate fear in our lives.  I refuse to live my life in fear of what may be lurking around a corner.  The last enemy that shall be destroyed is death…I shall live like I am dying.

I am an avid reader, and know I will remain so for the rest of my life.  There are times that I am amazed at the knowledge people will never have, and the places they will never go, because they do not read.  Hence, the quotation at the bottom (grammar to be fixed when they fill in my lines.  It was PAINFUL!  But, then, I suppose all lessons are).

Image

Well, don’t you?

Leave a Reply

